Daily Prompt: Careless Whisper

The right words at the wrong time have to be one of the most common causes of human suffering. I remember falling in infatuation with a girl that I met at the university. We would play gamecube in her little apartment jumbled with homemade art, classical books, and two cats that put up with my presence grudgingly. After about two months of getting to know her I got the courage to ask if she wanted to be my girlfriend. As soon as the words left my mouth I already knew the words that she was gargling in her throat. “I’m sorry but…”.

While the regret was immediate it was not fatal. We ended up having a cathartic talk about lover’s past and were laughing tears from our eyes about those that broke our hearts. It was possibly the most fun we’ve had since we began our friendship. We met up a couple of times after that, but an awkwardness grew between us after this question. I wish I had stayed friends with her but to be honest I am quite happy how things turned out. Now the only time I see her is on my tumblr, reblogging things from me or liking my posts. She is just an echo in my memory, slowly fading into silence and I’ve come to peace with this.

Leave a comment